Pakistan Cup Schedule Domestic ODI Tournament Fixtures

Pakistan Cup Schedule 2016 Domestic ODI Tournament Fixtures

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced the Pakistan Cup Schedule , this domestic one day cricket tournament will be played between five provincial teams, starting April 19 in Faisalabad.

Pakistan Cup Schedule  Domestic ODI Tournament FixturesIn this domestic cricket tournament, five teams are participating Punjab, Sindh, Balochistan, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Islamabad has pick their 15-man squads from a list of 150 cricketers in 15 rounds. The PCB also announced Azhar Ali will lead Balochistan, Test captain Misbah-ul-Haq will lead Islamabad, Younis Khan will take the reins of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Shoaib Malik will captain Punjab and Sarfraz Ahmed will lead Sindh.


Pakistan Cup Schedule Players Auction

The auction for this tournament took place in Lahore, where Punjab picked Salman Butt as their opening batsman while Sindh went for Mohammad Amir. Mohammad Asif, however, was not picked by any of the five teams. Mohammad Hafeez, who is suffering from a knee injury, remained unavailable for selection. In order to promote young cricketers, each team had to pick one regional Under-19 player in their 15-man squad.

The Pakistan domestic cricket structure has been inconsistent for decades with changes occurring every two years. Their domestic season starts in August with Grade-2 tournaments, and ends with the limited-overs tournaments by March. The PCB had introduced a completely new first-class system in 2015 and the announcement of the Pakistan Cup reflects the varying nature of planning in the domestic set up. It was understood that there were commercial reasons behind the timing of the event.


Pakistan Cup Schedule Date Time and Venue Details

Tue Apr 19 – 1st Match – Balochistan vs Punjab

Wed Apr 20 – 2nd Match – Islamabad vs KPK

Thu Apr 21 – 3rd Match – Balochistan vs Sindh

Fri Apr 22 – 4th Match – KPK vs Punjab

Sat Apr 23 – 5th Match – Islamabad vs Sindh

Sun Apr 24 – 6th Match – Balochistan vs KPK

Mon Apr 25 – 7th Match – Islamabad vs Punjab

Wed Apr 27 – 8th Match – KPK vs Sindh

Thu Apr 28 – 9th Match – Balochistan vs Islamabad

Fri Apr 29 – 10th Match – Punjab vs Sindh

Sun May 1 – Final – TBC vs TBC

Note: All matches will 50 overs and will start at 15:00 local (10:00 GMT) and will be played at Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Post